Fort Cuyo in Cuyo Island Philippines was constructed and finished in 1680, during the early Spanish period, purposely to protect the Cuyonon from sporadic Moro attacks. As Cuyo’s main municipal defense, the complex housed both the church and convento. Cuyo fort provided a safe haven not just for the ecclesiastical but also for civil authority as Cuyo served as the capital of the district known as Paragua (Palawan).
The original complex of stone and mortar was a square with four bastions. The present complex, which occupies 1 hectare, is a solid rectangular edifice with walls 10 metres high and 2 metres thick. It has a tall belfry and watchtowers; its cannons, which face the sea, are now fired only during town celebrations. It is considered as one of the most ancient and unique forts in the Philippines. Unique in the sense that you can find the church (San Agustin Parish Church), the convent and the Perpetual Adoration chapel all within the fort. In 1762 one of the British ships that invaded Manila fired at the Cuyo fort but it was not damaged at all.